Hip Update 1.5 Years Post Op Third FAI Surgery

I have not updated about my hip in awhile because not a lot has been new.  I have been slowly making some progress with pain management.  It is 1.5 years post op since my third right hip surgery for FAI. Over the summer I made quite a bit of improvement.  I don’t use any crutches or walking aids anymore.  When I go to the airport I don’t need a wheel chair to get through security unless I’m flying International or its a crazy long line. Also in the last month I have been walking Penny about six blocks a day without my scooter.  The blocks in my neighborhood are short blocks and not official city blocks (10 to a mile) so I would estimate 6 blocks at less than half a mile.  Penny loves her walks but wants me to walk faster.  I think she prefers the scooter because we can walk really fast and really far for a really long time!  I have a chubby chihuahua who loves to exercise.

Improvements

  • Walk Penny six blocks no scooter compared to zero blocks just a month ago
  • Can go to a party, dog park, and stand for about 45 minutes
  • I can do most of my housework
  • Go shopping for about 45 minutes without a break (this one is important)
  • Less pain at night while sleeping
  • Less pain at rest
  • Go to the gym but have to be careful.

All these improvements are great but my hip still hurts quite a bit.  My hip is better than what it was but it is still not a normal joint.  The joint is very unstable, and slippery and I often feel my joint rolling and slipping around in the socket if I step too suddenly or step sideways.  Everything I do has to be calculated and I always worry about what my hip can take that day.  I can’t do all the things I would like to like travel (flying kills my hip) and sightseeing, hiking, half day shopping, exercising, yoga, biking.  Also, I get very tired from dealing with all the pain -its exhausting and I wish I could devout more energy NOT to pain management.

If I want a life where my hip is not holding me back from things I want to do, I will need a hip replacement.   I sent my file over to a couple doctors inquiring about a non hip replacement surgery called a Periacetabular Osteotomy (PAO) surgery.  Both surgeons said that surgery would probably not help and that I need a hip replacement if I want to feel better.

Right now I am not sure if I should do a hip replacement yet.  Daily, I am still struggling with a lot of pain, but so many things can go wrong with a hip replacement surgery.  I see my surgeon in one week so I will discuss all of my concerns with him and see what his opinion is on whether I should get a hip replacement or get a second opinion about a PAO surgery.

I am going to consult with more doctors and think about whether I am ready for another big surgery.  Surgery is very difficult on your body and difficult emotionally and I have to take time of work and from my hobbies that I enjoy.  Plug all of the rehab, exercises and time devoted to physical therapy.  A hip replacement is not something I am looking forward to.

6 thoughts on “Hip Update 1.5 Years Post Op Third FAI Surgery

      • Please keep post updates about your situation. You’re not alone in this world of hip fight.
        28 years old here from Portugal, two FAI surgerys with 3 anchors (8 months last surgery), lot of groin pain and every surgery make me worst.
        Lot of MRIS, 3d Ct scan and X-ray, 4 opinions for 3 of best doctors and nobody knows why i have pain… One doctor refers for a minimal dysplasia but it’s a big surgery with unsure about if is the real problem for my groin pain. The labrum appears good and the bone too. My ct scan is pretty same of your.
        How old are you? Pray your THR is your solution!

  1. Please keep post updates about your situation. You’re not alone in this world of hip fight.
    28 years old here from Portugal, two FAI surgerys with 3 anchors (8 months last surgery), lot of groin pain and every surgery make me worst.
    Lot of MRIS, 3d Ct scan and X-ray, 4 opinions for 3 of best doctors and nobody knows why i have pain… One doctor refers for a minimal dysplasia but it’s a big surgery with unsure about if is the real problem for my groin pain. The labrum appears good and the bone too. My ct scan is pretty same of your.

    How old are you? Pray your THR is your solution!

Leave a Reply

